Full Record

Ministers of the Presbyterian Church of Eastern Australia, 1862 / photographed by T S Glaister
Click on image to enlarge
Request a copy
Ministers of the Presbyterian church of Eastern Australia, 1862 / photographed by T S Glaister
1 carte-de-visite : sepia tinted ; 9.6 x 6.4 cm.
Titled and dated on image: 'Ministers of the Presbyterian Church of Eastern Australia', 1862 and signed: T. S. Glaister, 253 Pitt St Sydney NSW. Verso carries the printed trade label of: T. S. Glaister / Photographic Artist / Sydney / 253 Pitt Street. Annotated (possibly by June Wallace) in ink: "Dr Steel should be amongst these. No.14 - 2nd from top in centre".
This group portrait of 18 Presybterian ministers is made up of a montage of individual portraits, each numbered and identified through a key: 1. Rev Alan McIntyre, Moderator-- 2. Rev Arthur M Sherriff, Synod Clerk -- 3. Rev William McIntyre AM -- 4. Rev Colin Stewart -- 5. Rev William Grant AM -- 6. Rev James Cameron AM -- 7. Rev Archibald Cameron -- 8. Rev James McCulloch -- 9. Rev S F McKenzie AM -- 10. Rev John Kinross -- 11. Rev John L McSkimming -- 12. Rev Colin R Greig -- 13. Rev Adam Gordon -- 14. Dr Robert Steel -- 15. Rev Archibald Constable Geikie -- 16. Rev William Bain -- 17. Rev William Ridley AB -- 18. Rev James S Laing.
Estate of June Wallace (1917-2010)
Published in:
Published, with revised numbering and new key, as plate 14 in Rev. James Cameron Centenary history of the Presbyterian Church in New South Wales Sydney, Angus and Robertson, 1905 col.1 facing p.72.
Caroline Simpson Library & Research Collection ; June Wallace papers: JMW/33
You may save or print this image for research and study. If you wish to use it for any other purposes, you must contact Sydney Living Museums to request permission.
Material Type:
Record number: